Should you REALLY tell your doctor everything?

February 12, 2014 — Leave a comment

doctor(2)

 

A lot people who provide drug information, like me, tell the consumers to please tell your doctor or local pharmacist about the vitamins and supplements you are taking. Is that a cop out? Are they just trying to transfer responsibility to another person?

Doctors have the results to your blood values. They know if your kidneys are in good working condition. They know if your liver is in good working condition. They know if you are at risk of developing a deadly blood clot that can be triggered at any moment. They know if your heart is weak and failing. They know a lot of things that I will never know as an author of drug information. Your local pharmacist will also know a lot more than me.

As a local pharmacist myself, I’ve had patients tell me they don’t have a problem with their cholesterol, yet they are on a cholesterol drug. I’ll question them about it and they’ll respond by saying, “Well, I used to have a problem with my cholesterol, but I don’t now that I take a cholesterol pill.”

I often worry about what patients are NOT telling me now when I’m giving them information. But your current local pharmacist would know without you telling them. Your local pharmacist would also have drug interaction alerts built into their computers. They would be informed by the computer if your pills don’t mix. The more information you give me, your doctor, and your local pharmacist the safer you will be. Of course, information could slip through the cracks, but chances are less likely if you keep us well informed.

I specialize in information hot off the press regarding pills that can keep you healthy, looking good, and living longer. I like giving that information to people to take back to their doctor and local pharmacist.

Your doctor might respond by saying something like, “I don’t know anything about that product, but go a head and try it and I’ll keep checking your blood work to make sure it’s working and you are staying healthy.”

Or she might say, “You on the verge a heart attack. We canNOT take any chances experimenting with your health. The benefits do not outweigh the risks.”

Either way, you must defer to your doctors decision. Doctors have an innate feeling about a given situation. Their subconscious minds are always taking in new information even if they don’t realize it. Their subconscious minds also have all the information from medical school even though they may not be able to verbalize it. It manifests in a bad feeling or good feeling. That is a divine intervention. Listen to your doctor and local pharmacist. Always tell them what I’m telling you. Together we are your best bet for great health.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

